Cyber norms test

Cyber norms are voluntary guidelines and principles that promote responsible state behaviour in cyberspace. They are designed to enhance international security and stability by providing a framework for states and other stakeholders to follow in order to mitigate cyber threats and prevent cyber conflicts.

These norms include respecting international law, protecting critical infrastructure, refraining from malicious activities such as cyber espionage and electoral interference, and ensuring due diligence to prevent non-state actors from using a state’s territory or ICT infrastructure for wrongful acts.

While non-binding, these norms aim to foster cooperation, transparency, and trust among states and other actors in the digital space. Their effective implementation requires regular dialogue, cooperation on technical measures, and efforts to hold violators accountable.

11 UN Cyber Norms

1: Interstate co-operation on security

2: Consider all relevant information

3: Prevent misuse of ICTs in your territory

4: Co-operate to stop crime and terrorism

5: Respect human rights privacy

6: Do not damage critical infrastructure

7: Protect critical infrastructure

8: Respond to requests for assistance

9: Ensure supply chain security

11: Do no harm to response teams

Latest news