EU sanctions North Korea, China, and Russia over cybercrimes

For the first time ever, the EU has issued sanctions against companies in North Korea and China, as well as the Russian military intelligence service’s department for special technologies, stating their involvement in significant cyber-attacks, or attempted cyber-attacks against the EU and its member states.

The EU sanctions regime was used to impose travel bans, freeze the assets of six individuals and three entities or bodies. According to the European External Action Service (EEAS), ‘these individuals and entities have been involved in cyber-attacks against companies located in the EU, such as those known as WannaCry, NotPetya, Operation Cloud Hopper or the attempted cyber-attack against the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)’.