Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

 Logo, Disk, Astronomy, Outer Space

Acronym: OECD

Established: 1961

Address: 2 rue André Pascal, 75116 Paris, France


The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) was established in 1961 to provide a forum for governments to work together in order to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. The organisation has 38 countries member states.

OECD’s work cover a wide range of topics, such as: competition, development, economy, education, innovation, science and technology, and trade. This work can result in various publications (outlooks, annual overviews and comparative statistics), as well as in formal agreements between member states, standards amd models for the application of certain policies, guidelines, and recommendations.

With regard to the Internet, the OECD is focused on issue such as: broadband and telecom, Internet economy, consumer policy, public sector innovation, privacy and data protection, security, as well as e-government. One of the significant documents is its Guidelines on Privacy and Trans-border Flow of Personal Data, amended in 2013. Other examples of OECD work include: broadband-related statistics, periodic reports on key ICT indicators, other reports on emerging Internet issues such as the Internet of Things and IPv6, recommendation on issues such as principles for Internet policy making and for the protection of critical infrastructures, policy guidance on digital content and online identify theft, etc.