Papua New Guinea accedes the New York Convention

Papua New Guinea deposited its instrument of accession with the United Nations Secretary-General to become the 160th state to accede to the United Nations Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (the New York Convention). There are now four of the fifteen countries of the South Pacific region that have acceded to the New York Convention, consisting of the Republic of Marshall Islands, Cook Islands, Fiji and Papua New Guinea. The New York Convention will come into force for Papua New Guinea on 15 October 2019.