Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence

 Logo, Text

Acronym: GPAI

Established: 2020

Address: 2, rue André Pascal 75016 Paris


Stakeholder group: Initiatives and processes

The Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence (GPAI) was launched in 2020 to foster the responsible development of AI grounded in the principles of human rights, inclusion, diversity, innovation, and economic growth.

GPAI’s mission, as outlined in its Terms of Reference, is to ‘bring countries and experts together to support and guide the responsible adoption of AI grounded in human rights, inclusion, diversity, gender equality, innovation, economic growth, and environmental and societal benefit, while seeking to contribute concretely to the 2030 Agenda and the UN Sustainable Development Goals’.

The partnership brings together 29 members: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Türkiye, the UK, the USA and the EU. Besides governmental participation, GPAI facilitates multistakeholder collaboration with the scientific community, industry, labour/trade unions, civil society, and international organisations.

GPAI has a Council and a Steering Committee, supported by a Secretariat hosted by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The Council provides strategic direction to GPAI and is responsible for all major decisions, including on membership and participation, while the elected Steering Committee – composed of five government members and six non-government representatives – is tasked, among other issues, with developing work plans, establishing working groups, and providing guidance to the Secretariat.

GPAI also has two Centres of Expertise: one in Montreal (CEIMIA, the International Centre of Expertise in Montreal for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence) and one in Paris (at INRIA, the French National Institute for Research in Digital Science and Technology). The Centres of Expertise facilitate GPAI’s four working groups: