SCO meeting focuses on simpifying trade procedures

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) – formed by China, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India and Pakistan, met in the Chinese city of Qingdao on Sunday 10 June. The members adopted a joint communiqué focused on “simplifying trade procedures,” specifically on trade in goods. Member states also touched upon governance aspects, and referred to “the importance of joint efforts needed to support and strengthen the multilateral trade system based on the standards and principles of the World Trade Organization.”