Google confirms having shared accidentally private videos with unknown users
According to CNBC, Google confirmed that users’ content uploaded on Google Photos may have been shared with strangers in November 2019, due to a technical error. A Google spokesperson explained “We are notifying people about a bug that may have affected users who used Google Takeout to export their Google Photos content between November 21 and November 25. These users may have received either an incomplete archive, or videos—not photos—that were not theirs. We fixed the underlying issue and have conducted an in-depth analysis to help prevent this from ever happening again. We are very sorry this happened.” According to TechRadar, Google recommends that any users who received videos that aren’t theirs, should just delete them.