European Commission opens infringement procedures against 24 member states for failing to enact new telecom regulations

The European Commission has formally notified 24 EU member states that it has opened infringement procedures for not transposing the European Electronic Communication Code (EECC) into national legislation by 21 December 2020. The EECC aims to ensure high-speed connectivity within the EU, open up investment in high-speed Internet, and introduce 5G into the European market. The EECC sets common rules and objectives on how the telecom industry should be regulated and defines how national regulators should approach providers of networks and services.