EU Commission to refer four EU countries to court for failing to enact EU rules on open data and public sector data reuse

The European Commission decided to refer Belgium, Bulgaria, Latvia and the Netherlands to the Court of Justice of the European Union for failing to transpose the Directive EU 2019/1024, referred to as the Open Data Directive) into national law. The deadline to transpose the Directive expired on 17 July 2021; the four member states have not communicated all their national measures to date.

The Directive on open data and the reuse of public sector data was passed on 20 June 2019 to unlock the benefits of a vast and valuable pool of data resources produced by the public sector.