Adoption of the Basel Ban Amendment

The parties to the Basel Convention adopted the Ban on Exporting Hazardous Waste to Developing Countries in 1995, which prohibits the export of hazardous wastes from the members of the EU, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), and Liechtenstein to all other countries. The amendment has been accepted by 86 countries and the European Union, but has not entered into force until 2019 (as it required ratification by three-fourths of the member states to the Convention).