United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Rajadamnern Nok Avenue, Bangkok 10200, Thailand

The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) is one of five regional commissions of the United Nations. ESCAP promotes regional cooperation and collective action among its member states, and assists them in building and sustaining shared economic growth and social equity. 

The Commission's work cover the following main areas: sustainable development, macroeconomic policy and development, trade and investment, transport, social development, environment and development, information and communications technologies (ICTs), disaster risk reduction, statistics, and sub-regional activities for development.

In the area of ICTs, the Commission focuses on enhancing the capacity of member states to use ICTs for hazard early warning, resilience building and disaster recovery, and on increasing the availability and affordability of broadband Internet within the Asia-Pacific region.




A Pre-Feasibility Study on the Asia-Pacific Information Superhighway in the ASEAN Sub-region: Conceptualization, International Traffic & Quality Analysis, Network Topology Design and Implementation Model (2016)
Trade Facilitation and Paperless Trade Implementation Survey 2015 (2015)

The GIP Digital Watch observatory is provided by



and members of the GIP Steering Committee


GIP Digital Watch is operated by

Scroll to Top