Bitcoin and Other Cryptocurrencies

13 Jun 2014
|
Geneva

A link to the webcast is available

Summary now available NEW

#Bitcoin Twitter feed #bitcoin

#theGIP @GenevaGIP #bitcoin event Twitter feed 

Photo gallery from the event is now available. 

 

 

The Bitcoin Protocol: presentation by the Swiss Bitcoin Association 

 

Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies: monetary and economic aspects: presentation by Z/Yen Group Unlimited Chiara Vongunten New

 

Cryptocurrencies as Digital Enablers: presentation by William Taborda 

Selected tweets:

 

 

 

Event Announcement

Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies: technical, monetary, policy and development context

The discussion on Bitcoins and digital currencies, including security and privacy issues, is quickly gaining ground. But what are digital currencies, and how do they work? What is the value of this ‘digital money’ and the economic impact? Most importantly, how secure and private are these transactions, and what is the role of cryptography in them?

Demonstrating a Bitcoin ATM

DiploFoundation, in cooperation with the Swiss Bitcoin Association, is organising a not-to-be-missed discussion on some of the most pressing issues related to digital currencies. A Bitcoin ATM machine will be on display.

The discussion will be led by Diplo director Dr Jovan Kurbalija and moderated by Diplo's technical director Dejan Dincic, with the participation of special guests:

  • Mathieu Buffenoir and Alexis Roussel from the Swiss Bitcoin Association;
  • Chiara von Gulten, from the commercial think-tank Z/Yen;
  • William Taborda from UNCTAD.

The panel will also discuss: are fluctuations in Bitcoin value important? What are the risks of an anonymous and decentralised currency system? How do regulators around the world react to cryptocurrencies? What is next?

The discussion will take place on Friday, 13th June, at 12:30 p.m. CET (10:30 a.m. UTC/GMT), at WMO, 7bis, Avenue de la Paix, Geneva. Scroll down for the programme, for remote participation information, and for the registration link.

The event takes place within the framework of the Geneva Internet Platform.

Programme

12:30 - 13:00 CET (10:30 - 11:00 GMT)
 
Light refreshments with a Bitcoin ATM machine on display

13:00 - 14:00 CET (11:00 - 12:00 GMT)

Welcome by Dr Jovan Kurbalija, Director, DiploFoundation and the Geneva Internet Platform
 
Contributions on political, technical, business and developmental aspects of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies by Mathieu Buffenoir and Alexis Roussel (Swiss Bitcoin Association), Chiara von Gulten (Z/Yen) and William Taborda (UNCTAD). 

14:00 - 14.30 CET (12:00 - 12:30 GMT) Discussion

Remote participation

Diplo extends an invitation to all those who are not based in Geneva to participate remotely. Remote participants can interact with the panel during the discussion.

If you plan to join us remotely, please fill in the registration form below, and mark 'Online' where indicated on the form.

Registration

Registrations are now closed.

Background information and summary

 

The GIP Digital Watch observatory is provided by

in partnership with

and members of the GIP Steering Committee



 

GIP Digital Watch is operated by

Scroll to Top